Namibia’s “Stolen” Skulls Returned

Morgan McKay’s aricle on the skulls being returned to Namibia tells about the skulls that were taken over 100 years ago.  It also tells about their elation and gratitude about recieving the skulls.Thousands flocked to Namibia's Hosea Kutako International Airport Tuesday, praying, singing and chanting as the 20 skulls were returned to the country.

Morgan’s blog: http://mmckay4ecspress.wordpress.com/

By: Morgan McKay

One hundred years ago, German scientists took skulls from Namibia, and now have returned them. Thousands of people rejoiced as the twenty skulls were returned. The skulls were taken during 1904-1908 when the Herero tribe rebelled against the German colonial forces. thousands were killed, and 20 of the skulls were then shipped to Berlin for research to see if european whites were racially superior.

I don’t like how racist people were back then, and I really don’t think anyone is superior to anyone else because of their race. I’m glad the skulls were returned, you can tell that they were very happy about it, they were just celebrating, praying to God and everything. This was very important to them, and I’m glad the skulls were returned.

http://www.cnn.com/2011/10/05/world/africa/skulls-return-to-namibia/index.html

10 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

10 responses to “Namibia’s “Stolen” Skulls Returned

  1. I agree with Morgan, I’m glad the skulls were returned but it sure took them a long time to give them back. I also like the point that she made about no one is superior because of their race. I completely agree with that statement, we are all human beings and no one should be discriminated because of race but sadly we see it every day.

  2. lhill4ecspress

    I am very glad that the skulls were returned; however, why did it take so long to return them? I feel like as soon as the conflict was over they should have shipped them back to Africa. One logical explanation would be that they forgot about the skulls. However, another would be that they continued to hold a prejudice over the Africans. But, I hope that that is not the case. Overall, I am happy that they were returned.

  3. I agree with both of you. It is sad to jude someone because they are different from you. I woudnt think their will be racist people here today but its sadly true.

  4. I agree, Jaala, but I think that racism is still a problem because it has taken a long time for racists to change their views. “Old habits die hard” is a famous saying and I think it’s especially true when phrased as “Old beliefs die hard.”

  5. Pingback: Discussion: Week 6 « vjonesPortfolio

  6. Pingback: Week 6 « lhillPortfolio

  7. I agree Victoria–it did take them a long time to return them! But, in the end they were returned, so that’s the good in this situation. It makes me really sad knowing that people were and are still racist. Like Victoria said “we’re all human beings.”

  8. Pingback: Week 5 « nzoltenPortfolio

  9. Thats awful someone stole them but good they that got them back.

  10. Pingback: Week 6 « dmunsonportfolio

Leave a comment